Townsend's rich history dates back to the seventeen hundreds, having been incorporated in 1732. The first mill of the town was built in 1733 in "Townsend Harbor". The pond at Townsend Harbor came into existence in 1734 when the dam was built for the mill. The Conant House, Gristmill and Cooperage are places that can be visited today. The Town Common is host to fall fairs and art shows, as well as summer band concerts. The Squannacook River provides opportunities for boating, fishing and swimming.
Highways: MA State Routes 119 and 13
Schools and Education
Squannacook Early Childhood Center
Spaulding Memorial School
Hawthorne Brook Middle School
North Middlesex Regional High School
Nashoba Valley Technical High School
Fire Department: 978-597-2711
Police Department: 978-597-6214
Town Hall: 978-597-1704
Town Website: www.townsend.ma.us
Incorporated in 1732
Total Area: 33.1 sq. miles
Land Area: 32.83 sq. miles
Density: 239.7 per sq. mile
Median Household Income: $64,429
Median Household Size: 2.96
Hunting Hill Wildlife Management Area
Entrance on Pierce Street The regions wildlife management areas provide an opportunity for outdoor recreation and wildlife viewing. For more information on permitted activities, contact the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife at (978) 263-4347.
Townsend Ridge Country Club
Massachusetts’s best-kept secret. 18-hole championship golf course, driving range, full service pro shop, and 19th Hole Lounge. Modern, picturesque facilities available to host weddings and banquets. Public facility with membership available.